+91 6353967672

12 Best Shopify Apps to Increase ROI of Your Shopify eCommerce Website

Do you own an eCommerce website hosted on Shopify platform? Have you recently launched your store at Shopify? Are you looking for best shopify apps to boost your sales quickly? this article is for you.

Here you will learn about how to integrate Shopify apps to improve the performance of your eCommerce store quickly. Before I share the apps, lets see some interesting facts about Shopify.

Shopify is one of the most popular and easy to use eCommerce platform and if integrated properly, it can boost your eCommerce sales at large extant. There are thousands of Shopify apps available on their official portal which is recommended to use with your store. In this article, we will be discussing about those app which you can use to optimize your eCommerce store for better performance.

It is one of the fastest and easiest way to set up an online store and has convinced thousands of businesses across the globe to use its services. As per builtwith statistics, there are more than 5,495,657 websites using Shopify out of them 3,856,909 are live websites at the moment. Shopify’s total revenue of $1,123.7 million, up 46% year over year as it announced its third-quarter results for 2021. You can do the estimation! Another important thing to note here would be that Shopify merchants are present across 175 countries, making it the most popular shopping solution.

All of this being said, being able to sell is quite different that being able to come up with your online shop. However, Shopify again comes to the help, with more than 7009 useful apps that makes your ecommerce venture more productive. As more and more standalone ecommerce solutions are becoming the game changer in online marketing, Shopify has been able to customize quite a few of them to be easily integrated into your shopping website. They range from email marketing (MailChimp), accounting tools (QuickBooks Online) to CRM and Salesforce related tool. Cloud ready, intelligently designed, cost effective and portable, these apps will be able to bring together clients, customers and the business on an operational level. App integration with Shopify is a simple process, saves a lot of time, eliminates data duplicates/related errors, offers smarter insights, makes apps customizable, and makes selling smarter.

Here are 12 such Shopify apps become widely popular among Shopify users in the recent months:

Best Shopify Apps

Please note that, the list of these apps are from all different categories like shopping feed, SEO, product upsell and so on. Here we have tried to include app based on our experience working as a digital marketing consultant for an eCommerce clients. This list will be updated periodically.

#1 Google Shopping Feed

Google shopping feed shopify app

Google shopping ads can be your best source of traffic once you launch an ecommerce store. Shopify is offering their own shopping feed app but if you are looking to optimize the shopping ads campaign in Google ads, this shopify app has lot more features to offer.

The developers of this shopify app has worked with over 150 plus store and based on their vast experience, they developed this app to solve all different problems associated with shopping feeds and Google ads campaign creation. Some of the most interesting features are:

  • You can submit all product variations
  • It can instantly sync with Google merchant center
  • Allow you to optimize shopping feed products title and descriptions
  • You can create promotion feed for all or a specific product from this app
  • The interface is very easy to use

I personally liked this app because of their support! yes, their support is very prompt and their team is having very good knowledge of Google shopping ads. They will not only help you to fix feed related issues but also will help you to optimize the Google shopping ads campaign.

#2 Bundles Upsell | PickyStory

One of the best ways to improve your ROI is to increase your average order value (AOV). In other words, to generate as much revenue as possible from each visitor who comes to your store. PickyStory helps you do just that, by presenting your customers with bundles and deals throughout your store to entice them to add more products to their cart.

With PickyStory, you can create Bundles of products that are frequently bought together, and display these on your existing product pages. You can also let customers pick and choose their own products with PickyStory’s Bundle Builder deal, or use Kits to offer tiered pricing and encourage customers to buy in bulk.

PickyStory also lets you create a shoppable gallery of Looks, and has pop-up and in-cart upsell options. If you are looking to sell packs of products as a single product in your store, PickyStory offers that too, with Combo Products. Plus, your inventory is synced with Shopify at SKU level and correctly managed for all individual products you include in Combos (and all other deals).

One of Shopify’s biggest limitations is the inability to stack discount codes at the checkout. With PickyStory, you can stack a coupon (created in the PickyStory app) with a product deal discount, making it easy for your customers to spend more and save more.

All PickyStory deals can be fully customized to suit your brand’s styling, and the app is auto-compatible with all themes. You don’t even need any coding skills to use the app – deals are created with clicks and added to your pages simply by dragging and dropping onto the desired location, which could be product pages, a collection, the cart, your homepage, or almost any other page in your store.

  • Developer – PickyStory
  • Reviews & Ratings – 210+ reviews (5 star rating)
  • Price – Free trial available, paid plans from $14.50 / month

#3 SEO Image Optimizer

seo-image-optimizer-shopify-app

Developed by Booster Apps, SEO Image Optimizer for Shopify is an all time favorite with more than 4000 reviews and nearly 1 million images processed with it. Using this app, sellers can turn their product images into SEO marketing tools and expect an improved rank in Google SERP. The app gets installed in just 30 seconds and will require zero coding knowledge.

Developer Booster Apps

Reviews & Ratings 4300+ Reviews (5 Star Ratings)

Price Free Forever

#4 Free Shipping Bar

free-shipping-bar

Shipping fee has always been a surprise for most online consumers and this is also where most shopping carts are abandoned. This app integration is however targeted to increase you overall order values and thereby boost sales. The ‘free shipping’ bar featuring on your product page will allow customers to gain more confidence and according to latest reports, free shipping enhances online purchases by more than 88%. The “Free Shipping Bar” is completely customizable and can display several kinds of messages including “free shipping above $50” or “Free shipping across Canada”. The app is completely optimized and also helps in geo targeting.

Developer Hextom

Reviews & Ratings 8800+ Reviews (5 Star Ratings)

Price From $0.00 / month

#5 Sweet Tooth Loyalty Program

loyalty-program-shopify-app

The concept of loyalty program is about offering special rewards (discounts and cash backs) to regular customers. Sweet Tooth Loyalty Program app will add points with every buy that a customer makes and allow it to be redeemed against free products. This will also more likely encourage repeat purchases. You can customize the loyalty points for purchases made, referrals done, social shares by customers, new account registration, birthday bonuses, social follows, and other types of weekly rewards.

Developer Sweet Tooth

Reviews & Ratings 3300+ Reviews (5 Star Ratings)

Price From $0.00 / month

#6 Plug in SEO

plug-in-seo-shopify-app

If your ecommerce store is having problems and issues with search engine optimization, Plug in SEO would be an app worth trying. On installation, the app will check your SEO performance, analyze SEO data and offer suggestions for improvement. This will include issues with page titles, product headings, Meta descriptions, structure of blog posts, uniqueness of content, loading speed, image optimization and much more. The instruction for improvements is also followed by code snippets that can be integrated into your Shopify admin to power up your SEO.

Developer Plug in Useful

Reviews & Ratings – 2000+ Reviews (4.7 Star Ratings)

Price From $0.00 / month

#7 Upsell on Exit & Visit

upsell-exit-shopify-app

A last minute special offer will always ensure that a shopping cart is not abandoned and the customer will come back for a repeat purchase. The same applies when a potential customer is visiting an online shopping platform for the first time. Using pop-ups, this Upsell on Exit & Visit will display coupons for free shipping, special discounts, special prices, added gifts and other informational / promotional messages. Upselling strategies like this have been helping several Shopify businesses reach maximum revenue targets from their eCommerce Store. The app comes with an insightful editor and can be thoroughly customized. Embedded code snippets will ensure that the cart is calculated automatically.

Developer SpurIT

Reviews & Ratings – 500+ Reviews (5 Star Ratings)

Price From $0.00 / month

#8 Email Collection Bar by Hextom

email-collection-bar-shopify-app

Email marketing is a crucial means of lead generation of any online sellers. The bigger the subscription base, the more leads can a business hope to generate through special emails and promotional campaigns. Well, Email Collection Bar app comes up with an email collection banner and visitors can expect discount coupons on providing a valid email address. The email is automatically synced with your MailChimp / Klaviyo / Soundest database and you also have an option of exporting it to a CSV file. The app also offers advanced geo targeting and you can choose to set bars for visitors from specific countries. Sellers can hope to integrate this app with zero coding knowledge and seek unlimited number of impressions.

Developer Hextom

Reviews & Ratings – 500+ Reviews (5 Star Ratings)

Price From $0.00 / month

#9 Better Coupon Box [Not Working]

better-coupon-box-shopify-app

Statistics suggest that 50% of visitors to an ecommerce store are likely to switch to a different portal if they don’t see something exclusive. Using Better Coupon Box, you can tackle this challenge by offering special coupon pop-ups in exchange of voluntary marketing like social shares, likes, subscriptions and others. This way, you not only increase your conversion rate but also your fan base on social platforms.

Developer Beeketing

Reviews & Ratings 1700+ Reviews (5 Star Ratings)

Price From $0.00 / month

#10 Tidio Live Chat

Tidio ‑ Live Chat & Chatbots - Live Chat boosted with Chatbots, Messenger, and Instagram

Tidio is a free of cost Shopify live chat app that is boosted by Chatbots. It is the best Shopify app for eCommerce stores and is powered by marketing automation and is designed to increase customer journey satisfaction. Tidio allows users to be virtually present with their customers and reply to queries instantly. Live support is there when the store’s customer needs your help.

It helps to retain existing and potential customers who usually need an immediate response to their queries. The Tidio bot is available 24X7 and can handle the situation in your absence. Set up these bots simply and quickly with a few clicks and let them check the product availability, delivery status, and other customer requests. In addition, the chatbots can also hand over the conversation to real operators when needed. We hope you are now clear. Why do the customers need Live support?

Developer – TIDIO LLC

Reviews & Ratings – 1365 Reviews (4.8 Star Ratings)

PriceFree plan available

#11 ProveSource Social Proof

ProveSource Social Proof

ProveSource is one of the best Shopify apps to boost sales, and the social proof app is designed to build confidence and trust in your e-commerce store through live sales popup notifications. The goal of this app is to boost sales and increase conversions and ROI. It shows statistics, reviews, and all other important metrics that help you to engage better.

It offers various features like Live sales popups, reviews, notifications and gives your store the image of being an in-demand and authentic place to shop. The app allows the users to get a live view of what the other users are purchasing which creates a FOMO – the fear of missing out effect on the other browsers. Even if your store is just starting out, ProveSource helps to make your e-commerce store grow above its expectations.

Developer – ProveSource

Reviews & Ratings – 196 Reviews (4.8 Star Ratings)

PriceFree plan available

#12 Back in Stock

Back in stock - Notify your customers when products are restocked

Back in stock is one of the top Shopify apps for eCommerce business and the best Shopify apps to increase sales instantly. It helps you when you are sold out of your best products. Back in Stock helps you in ensuring maximum sales. This is one of the best Shopify apps that lets customers sign up and be notified when a product that they want is available in your store. Your customers get an automatic email notification. The app is easy-to-install and helps you understand which products are the most popular in your store so you can manage stock levels. You can customize all aspects of your app to meet customer needs. Its key features include customizable opt-in forms that can seamlessly match your customer’s needs. It has a comprehensive admin dashboard with reports.

DeveloperSureSwift Capital

Reviews & Ratings477 Reviews (4.8 Star Ratings)

PriceFree plan available

Conclusion

There are many Shopify apps that are available on the market. You need to understand which the best Shopify apps are to grow an eCommerce store so that they can make your e-commerce business a success. Many of these apps are worth trying out, but despite their obvious advantages, not all apps are right for all Shopify stores.

First, you must understand what you want as part of your business strategy, and then you can choose Shopify apps to increase eCommerce store ROI or any other business goals. This list of Shopify apps might not be the best guide for every Shopify store owner. It might not help every store owner meet their target but here we have tried to list the ones that are worth investigating. These could be the best Shopify apps for the Shopify eCommerce store. But there are many more apps if you are not happy with the ones listed above.

Tested Promotion Ideas & Marketing Platforms to Boost Sales for ECommerce Business

ECommerce business became very competitive because of many big fishes who is in the ecommerce business since ages and still expanding their business day by day. Apart from it each year many ecommerce business is being launched with new products, new concepts & unique offers but only few gets noticed. Ecommerce business will get success only if they hit the right audience with right approach & right platform. Some big Ecommerce businesses have their own marketing team or think tank team so, they do have proper channel for marketing. Here we will provide some of the verified and tested ecommerce marketing ideas for those ecommerce businesses who recently launched their business, small or medium size business or wanted to launch their ecommerce business.

There is plenty of different ways to do Ecommerce marketing including online and offline channel. Few of the popular Ecommerce marketing strategy includes

  • Run ads on TV
  • Run ads on Newspapers
  • Huge Banners across the country
  • Online Ads platform (FB, Google Ads etc)
  • Social Media Marketing
  • Influencer Marketing
  • & Many More…

One of the primary attribute in Ecommerce marketing which needs to be add in any advertisement is promotions / offers / discounts & deals. These are the important things which should be and must be there always. Here we will discuss about different promotion strategy for eCommerce businesses which needs to be implemented to get more sales.

So, Let’s start…..

Struggling to set the right promotion strategy for your Ecommerce business? Well, here we have compiled the various Ecommerce marketing/promotions strategy which you can apply on your store [Believe Us – All promotions strategy tested on various businesses]. Some E commerce businesses also raise doubts that even after applying promotion strategies, they couldn’t achieve sales as expected. So, here we are also listing the steps about how one can promote the coupon codes, promo codes or discounts to their targeted audience using various platforms.

Setting up an E-commerce website to sell products online – is doing just this enough to make money in the ecommerce industry? The answer is a big resounding No. Offering lucrative promotions and special offers to your prospective ecommerce customers is an effectual process of driving huge traffic to your site, gaining new customers, and boosting revenue. And the best part is you can harness the power of these promotions to encourage new visitors to become loyal, repeat customers of your business.

But in today’s competitive market, online consumers have become more savvy than ever and there are countless online buying options for them. Thus, standing ahead of the crowd is only possible when you can develop innovative promotion ideas. Implementing these strategies correctly with additional persuasion can help your visitors buy your products instantly and give you a great return on investment (ROI). But from the many tried, tested and suggested ways to promote ecommerce website out there, have you been able to plot the right one for your own business? If not yet, then get ready to find your answers today. So, without further ado, let’s start the discussion.

Types Of Effective Ecommerce Promotion Ideas

Just like brick and mortar stores, if you do not welcome your customers to your ecommerce store, it will take just a second for them to choose another option to make a purchase. To welcome your customers, you need to engage them. Special offers and promotions play an important role in engaging customers to an ecommerce website. There are some effective ecommerce promotion ideas that work wonderfully. Here is the list of some killer promotion ideas which you can include in your ecommerce marketing strategy.

Just Remember – “First Impression is the Last Impression”

#1 Free Shipping Promotion 

A study says, 9 out of 10 shoppers prefer free shipping when it comes to buying things online. A majority of consumers consider free shipping as an appealing offer and thus it can drive remarkable sales conversions.

office-furniture-free-shipping

There are mainly two ways through which you can offer free shipping on your e commerce business – conditional free shipping and unconditional free shipping. Conditional free shipping sets certain conditions to the free shipping offer for example.

  • Minimum order value
  • Select Items
  • Economy Delivery
  • Area-specific delivery

On the other hand, unconditional free shipping applies on every item and every order across all brands. Choose a method depending on your profit margins, shipping costs, and competition. Some Ecommerce store goes one step further by providing same day shipping, one-day shipping or free returns offers. This kind of promotion offers surely benefits to the business as people need their product as soon as possible.

#2 Percentage Based Discounts

Offering your prospective customers discounts on every buy is a way to draw people’s attention to your store and products. And eventually, this becomes helpful for your ecommerce business in increasing sales, improving reputation and boosting success. And one of the most common ways to provide discounts is with a percentage based discount. Usually, ecommerce retailers use small to large discounts as incentives to purchase. And sometimes, when it comes to flash sale or clearance sale, some brands even offer 50% or more discounts [Don’t judge, read next line]. Which discount you will choose to offer your customers completely depends on your profit margin and inventory stock.

shoes-percentage-discount

In the above screenshot, you can see that how this E-commerce business provides discount offer directly on product listing page. Apart from the discount offer, the product listing page perfectly sums up the details of the products. It has product image, available colors variants information, product name, price range, discount offer, ratings and reviews and finally, call to action button.

#3 Buy One Get One Free Discount

Buy one get one free (BOGO) offer helps ecommerce retailers allure their customers easily. Usually, this offer happens during festivals, events and major national holidays. Through this offer, you can create a perception for your customers that they are getting a great deal. And that is what drive sales for your business. The BOGO offer is designed in such a way that helps in clearing out, moving inventory and creating cash flow for an ecommerce business. To make people aware of this offer, set up a banner across your website showcasing BOGO offer through a compelling copy.

bogo-buy-one-get-one-free-promotion

As mentioned earlier, this kind of BOGO offers specially available during the festivals or holidays so, be prepared for it and announce such offers on your store a bit earlier before the offer starts to make the customers aware and get themselves for purchase. We have seen some Ecommerce businesses set up this offer specially on few product categories which directly connected to specific holiday. For e.g. few jewelry portals provides BOGO offer on mother’s day specially on jewelry items which can be gifted to mother. Ecommerce business can set up above BOGO offers during below holidays list.

  • Black Friday
  • Cyber Monday
  • Boxing Day
  • Carnival
  • Christmas
  • New Year
  • Diwali
  • Easter
  • Fall Sale
  • Father’s Day / Mother’s Day
  • Halloween
  • Hanukkah
  • Labor Day
  • Independence Day
  • Eid
  • Rosh Hashanah
  • Winter Sale
  • Valentine’s Day
  • & Many More (Yes, Holiday Season Never Ends)

#4 Get Free Item On $$$$ Purchase

free-gift

This offer applies to a certain amount of purchase of any particular product, working in various ways, such as a flat discount, a fixed percentage of discount and more. By offering these discounts, ecommerce websites can gain profit from individual customers as well as distributors and wholesale merchants. And every customer loves having free item when buying something. Thus giving away free stuff on a certain amount of purchase can certainly encourage your website users to often make bulk orders. Jewelry Ecommerce business is one of the ideal businesses to offer such promotions.

#5 Discount / Coupon Code On Sale Price

This offers the customers the chance of getting a certain amount of concession on sale or bill price by including a discount or coupon code. Just make sure your coupon or promo code is easy to remember and apply. The easier a promo code is easy to remember and apply the more it will be used and eventually the better transactions you will have over the time. To harness its maximum benefits, other than your website, share the coupon codes on third party websites as well to drive more traffic.

coupon code

Some Ecommerce websites provides coupon codes or discount for first-time users to encourage them to buy more products from the store to gain trust.

#6 Quantity Discounts

bulk-discounts-promotions

Offering lucrative discounts on a certain quantity of purchase can drive sales for ecommerce businesses. This offer can be advantageous for both the sellers and consumers when there’s any bulk order placement gets done.

#7 Reward Points

Offering reward points to customers has a significant impact on customer loyalty program in e-commerce business. And when you give importance to customer loyalty program, you get customer retention, new customers through referrals and an increased conversion. Show reward points based on affiliate sales or total products bought by your customers and give discounts accordingly.

One More Important Thing….

Each & every ecommerce business has their own range product categories or business model so, from above list it may or may not possible to apply all promotions for your business. It completely depends on the profit margin, inventory stock, ROI and other important things. So, decision is yours.

And, if you haven’t decided your range of product categories for your ecommerce business than here is the statistics of what users prefers to buy most from online.

online-shopping-categories

#8 Sell on Multiple Platforms

Many eCommerce businesses now promote and sell their products on other platforms besides their own website. Some of the best multichannel platforms are like Amazon, eBay, Opensky, Etsy or Instagram. A multichannel sales strategy is a great backup plan in case your primary sales channel doesn’t work well. This is considered to be the most effective way because this will not only help you to stretch your business reach but also help you in fetching more potential consumer for your site and generate leads.

#9 Run Cart Abandonment Offers

Ecommerce retailers may calculate and track their cart abandonment rate to better understand the reasons for revenue increases and decreases. However, the shopping cart abandonment has nothing to do with the visibility of the website or the deals featured in adverts. But this kind of ecommerce marketing strategy help in determining the percentage of purchase intent displayed by site visitors who do not purchase despite having things in their cart. This is a serious problems and need to necessitate a comprehensive examination of why users are leaving the website despite plainly loving the offerings.

There are number or reasons like as:

• Website had errors/crashes
• Long and Confusing Checkout Processes
• Customers are required to create an Account before purchase.
• Concerns about payment security
• Return Policy Wasn’t Satisfactory

#10 Cross-sell Products

Cross-selling is amazing ecommerce marketing ideas used by stores to increase order values by promoting complementary products. It works by recommending complementary products to clients who are close to making a purchase. Today consumers are becoming gradually accustomed to purchasing things from a variety of online platforms, such as online marketplaces and social media which is growing rapidly. Cross selling helps in Building Loyalty. It also, Increases Earnings and helps in understanding customers requirement.

#11 Offer multiple payment options (Easy EMI installments)

Offering multiple payment option is another most effective way to fetch customers. This will help your customers to get assurance regarding the safety and security of their payment which they do for their purchases from your website, it will enhance your brand perception too.

#12 Contest and Giveaways

Contests and Giveaways no doubt are great option by which you can capture a wide range of your audience’s attention. This is considered as most interactive ecommerce sales promotional ideas which make your audience engaged and with this form of marketing you get an opportunity to show off your products to a wider group of people.

It is also believed that the Contests that are well-designed immediately answer the fundamental question about “What’s there in it for me?” Through this approach you may encourage your readers to help and develop original content that will help you build your business and provide value to your visitors–by awarding cash, items, free services, and even notoriety.

#13 Live Chat Assistant

Live chat support service is a great way to engage with your customers in order to earn their trust and build your brand’s credibility. Through this ecommerce promotion strategy you can save the time of customers by pointing them in the right direction when they visit the site for the first time. You can also serve multiple customers at the same time.

#14 Offer/Create Personalized Recommendations

Personalized recommendations on email definitely strike a user and business to generate massive revenue for your e-commerce store. Based on your visitor’s browsing history, actions, location, device, add to cart options, likes or favourites, this is believed to be one of the most powerful and prevalent way of product recommendations.

We hope now you might get good idea about promotions…..Now let’s talk about marketing platforms or types of online ads where you can promote above promotions to right audience.

How to Promote Promotions via Online Ads?

Confused? Don’t worry, we are here to help !

Offline businesses who owns any fashion store, toys store, mobile store or any other store still provides various promotions including discounts, BOGO offer and other benefits. They promote their promotions via different advertisements including local newspapers, local tv channels, radio, pamphlets, huge hoardings and other sources. But, here we are talking about Ecommerce website which has a large number of audience and above methods may or may not work.

By simply displaying discount coupons and freebies on your ecommerce website won’t make the cut, you will have to make potential buyers aware of such coupons and freebies. And the best way to do so is online ads. Powerful online ads not only make your offers and freebies known to your audience but also build brand awareness for your ecommerce website.

Here are some popular ways of running online ads to increase ecommerce sales:

#1 Google Ads

Google Ads are perhaps the most powerful online ads platform that allow ecommerce businesses to connect with a large audience. You have a wide range of options to run Google Ads campaigns.

Here are the main types of Google Ads:

Via Search Campaign

Google search campaign allows you to place your ads in the search engine result page. Through search advertising, you can bid to place an ad in the search results and fix the maximum amount you want to pay when someone clicks your ad. To get quality leads, make sure your ad reaches only the people who are likely to buy your products.

Ad Copy

search-ad-copyJust create a compelling ad copy and add the promotion details such as discounts, coupons, deals, offers etc. in ad title & description. This will help you reach a niche audience as compared to any other advertising method.

Search Campaign Extensions

Google Ads also provides one more feature called as extensions. Ecommerce store can promote their promotions via callout extensions which allow you to expand ads by 25 characters. So, one can set up callout extension with promotional offers.

Recently Google launched one more extension named Promotions extension where Ecommerce business can add their promotion details easily along with % discount, monetary discount and coupon code details. This extension works like a charm in search ads.

promotions-extension

Via Shopping Ads

You might be aware of Shopping ads because every online Ecommerce store runs this ad as it gives the highest ROI and very cheap. If you don’t know about these ads then you are missing a huge revenue source for your business. Don’t worry, we will explain about shopping ads here.

Shopping ads, also referred to product listing ads, feature specific products you sell in the search engine result page. To create a shopping ad and enable promotions feature to show your discount and coupon code to your targeted audience, you need to set up an account in Google Merchant Center and later you need to apply to Google team to enable the promotions feature for your store.

After enabling the Promotions feature for your Google merchant store, you can easily set up Promotions for all your products. Once you complete the set up, than users will able to view the coupon code/promo code details just below your product shopping ad which boosts chances of more sales.

merchant-center-shopping-promotion

Such ads stand ahead of the curve and help you grab attention, have a broad reach, get quality leads and gain high conversion and good CTR.

Via Display Campaign

gearbest-discount-banners

Display advertising, also known as banner advertising, conveys a commercial message visually, utilizing logo, text, images, animations, videos and other graphics. You can harness the benefits of users’ behavioral targeting and geotargeting to get the maximum advantage from display advertising.

Remarketing Ads

Dynamic remarketing ads are one of the finest features for any online ads platform. It allows Ecommerce business to display ads to those customers who visited your website earlier but didn’t purchase anything from it. For retargeting ads we can build several custom audiences to achieve maximum return.

dynamic-remarketing-adHere are few Audiences examples you can create in your online ads platform.

Audience 1 – Visited cart page but didn’t make any purchase (Average chances for sales)

Audience 2 – Visited Checkout page but didn’t make any purchase (Higher chances for sales/leads)

Audience 3 – Remained website for 45+ Seconds and didn’t make any purchase (Evaluate the average sale time and create audience accordingly)

Audience 4 – Visited particular product category page but didn’t make any purchase (High chance of product category sale)

We can build such custom audience on Google Ads, Bing Ads and even on Facebook Ads.

You can also promote your festival offers and deals through eye-catchy banner ads. Visually appealing banner ads create brand awareness among your targeted audience, give your products and offers great visibility and help you get a wide reach in an impactful way.

Note – Even if you don’t have main stream E commerce business and selling digital products then don’t worry, you can still run dynamic display ads for your business via Google AdWords using custom feed options.

#2 Facebook/Instagram Ads

Facebook and Instagram ads are a great tool to promote your ecommerce business, especially when you are targeting your products to the young generation. These are highly popular platforms to garner sales for ecommerce businesses. Report says, in 2021 Facebook advertising revenue has been amounted to 33.67 billion U.S. dollars. To stand ahead in this competitive arena, leverage all the lucrative benefits that Facebook offers.

facebook-offer-ad

Set up promo and offer ads on Facebook for your targeted and retargeted audience. Add discount or coupon code information in basic Facebook ads. Set up Instagram placement directly from Facebook ads. Post high-quality pictures on these social platforms, especially on Instagram, an image-heavy social network platform.

#3 Email Marketing

email-discount-offers

No matter what people say, email marketing campaigns (if run smartly) can increase your sales at a fraction of your marketing budget. Following are some email marketing ideas to grow your sales:

  • Send email to those users who added product in cart and didn’t purchase at least for 2 days
  • Send email to all existing customers/new customers
  • Send email prior to days/events/holidays, such as Black Friday, Cyber Monday, Christmas etc.

The golden rule of email marketing is every marketing mail should offer some value to your audience. If you follow it, you will certainly taste the success.

Quick Take Aways & Conclusion

If you are an e commerce business owner or planning to be one in near future, it’s quite natural for you to find out proven tactics that will help you get a flood of sales. Hopefully, after reading this post, now you have the idea of ways to achieve that. Whether you opt for Google ads or decide to implement Facebook or Instagram ads or take advantage of email marketing – the options are many. No matter which option you choose, if you are not aware of your buyer persona, then all your efforts will go in vain.

In any case, as now that you know what should be done, get started and go through the tips above mentioned, working for your store.

So, which promotional tactic has worked for you when it comes to promoting your products and offers and boosting sales? Do share your experience here in the comment section. I’d love to know.

To make things more easy “Hire Us” [WINKED]

Learn How to Launch Your Business Online & Start Selling ASAP [Quick Guide]

Earth is closed! You might have seen the memes, but you most certainly will have heard how the Covid-19 coronavirus has wreaked havoc on businesses all over the world. If you happen to be one such business person, don’t lose hope.

work during corona
People are indoors, in either self-quarantine or lock-down. Apart from reducing the spread of the virus this way, people being indoors means business can still go on. Ask those working from home and they will tell you that everything is progressing, albeit slowly, online.

If you are the owner of offline store, brick-and-mortar business and want to run your business online, this article is for you.

Are you ready to launch your business online?

Here we go!

How To Get Going Quickly – First Steps

e-commerce setup

This is often the hardest move, but modern technology has made it quite straightforward to transform your business online. Whether you are an independent business owner or work for small shops, or restaurants and cafes, you can still use the internet to your advantage.

Here’s How TheRubyTap Wine Bar did it !!

Offline to online store

The Ruby Tap Wine bar, for example, took quick action in setting up online order system helps people to make orders online. They could come pick up their purchases from the curbside when ready. It was a great way to encourage safety while at the same time keeping business going.

See what happened after they launched an online bottle ordering system!

In your case, things might be a bit more complicated. It is not a bad idea to start a little late, while still being quick about it.

Start with buying a domain name if you are not having one. Domains are ridiculously cheap, demand only annual pay, and can be redesigned to your heart’s content. You will need to invest a little cash to get this going, but your efforts will prove fruitful.

Now the next part will be to use trusted and ready to use framework for your online store. We recommend going with Shopify, WooCommerce hosted on WordPress or any other eCommerce platform depending upon your requirement. They will save your lot of time in developing the system and offers world class ready to use features for your online order system.

A blog, along with some reviews from existing customers, can make you stand out in your own light even though you are technically the ‘new e-kid on the block’. Content writing businesses can help infuse your blog with sufficient content on short notice.

Have some of your preferred customers post their reviews of you and your services. The rest is a promotion game waiting to begin.

Biggest Pitfalls – Watch Out!

home delivery

You need to remember that these are dark times, and you cannot just leap on the success bandwagon overnight.
A major pitfall that no one will tell you about is the mistrust of online shoppers. Many who do not normally opt for e-commerce are now being forced to. Additionally, you have more people looking for a lot more things online than just what you are providing. It is therefore imperative that you come across as trustworthy, learned in your business, calm and efficient, and do it all using written words, videos, and images.

Customers are ready to buy, Are you ready to sell ?

The chain of supply-demand has to be maintained. You need to have field agents ready to home-deliver, or at least set up your marketing campaign in such a way that people know where they can come collect their purchases safely and without incident. Try a dummy run yourself just to see if you can deliver to those living in your neighborhood.

Shopify, WordPress, Woocommerce… These are your online management hubs, using which you can adequately handle all things customer-related. Order management, keeping a central data repository, GDPR, spreadsheets, etc. can all be maintained if you are willing to set aside time for them. You can lose sight of several factors if this step is not followed, so spend those few hours a day on ‘paperwork’.
A bank, no matter what they say, will not bail you out. Do not rely on their hollow promises at a time like this. Banks are more interested in high-end corporates and large business chains. Your comparatively simpler business needs you to be smart and give time.

The Right Resources – Choose Your Weapon

e-commerce resources

People are strapped for cash right now, which means you cannot afford to be a ‘freeloader’ when hiring some of them to help keep your business afloat in an online marketplace.
Just keep a handful of trusted employees, get a few recommended online social media savvy individuals, and pay them a cheap but guaranteed amount of money to help you sort out varied business demands at different times of the day.

Love Thy Competitor

Peers as well as rivals will have ideas to share with you. These are trying times, which are somehow uniting people rather than dividing them. Put aside your pride and ask those in your business circle for advice. Even one small point can turn the tide in your commercial favor.

Pay that Debt Off

Small business loans, as long as you are sure of repayment, can prove to be a good choice in these testing times. It will help you pay for your online presence as well as keep your employees committed.
Not everything you read online is true. The same applies to people you talk to before transforming your business online. Trust, but verify. Double-check everything, in fact you can ‘hire’ a family member or friend to do this on your behalf.

SBAgov and EcomChat are two fine examples of online chat forums that are essentially ‘by the people, for the people’ threads (or conversations), aimed at shedding light on e-commerce issues amidst ongoing chaos. Use the tag #ecomchat to ask questions on Twitter. You will find that several people from all over the world will be willing to ease your doubts. They also pick some important questions and discuss them with the users, as shown below :

ecom chat example

Client Reviews boost your reputation

Your current customer base is the fuel for your online rocket. You need to call them and entail their help. Merely request them to leave a review online, preferably on your website or blog (you must have created one expressly for your present e-commerce requirements). These reviews are crucial, because the last thing fresh customers want is to see a ‘blank’ company that has made no real impact in the lives of people. Yours has actually influenced real-life people, so it is important that your online portal reflects that. Here is an example of client testimonials on a Digital Marketing Agency website.

customer reviews
‘Payment technology’ is the term applied for all online payment options. You need to set this up, so people can choose one of a handful of ways to pay online when shopping with you. Don’t forget to make COD, or cash on delivery, available as well.

Get the Lead, when you least expect it

Make excellent use of free trials and free tier accounts to integrate live chat options on your portal. You’ll be surprised just how many people will want to directly ask you questions instead of emailing. You can earn or lose customers based on how accessible you are to them. Even when you are not online, these chat apps can still help you get leads as seen below.

live chat app

Reach out via LinkedIn to varied staff and/or employers/owners. Many are out of a job at this time, and you might get lucky and land a few experienced minds for your online business transformation.

Landing Your First Order – How To Make It Happen

ecommerce customers

Marketing options for your blog or website will not come free. This is where your business loan or savings can come in handy. You need to invest in good marketing. This is not really an option for small businesses eager to win the attention of online shoppers.

Learn Opportunistic Marketing from Amul

Opportunistic Marketing is the biggest source for getting your brand across. Amul has been on the top since its beginning in terms of opportunistic marketing. Here is a recent example of Amul spreading awareness about Corona Virus.

amul opportunistic marketing
The first fact to keep in mind concerning Marketing is that you need to target the right audience. Be it housewives or teenagers, you need to sing to the right crowd or your song is going to go unheard.
Facebook ads are taking a hit, but Google ads are still going strong. You can start generating interest followed by sales by buying Google ad space. You can start by creating a Google Shopping Campaign.

Right Ad placement can do wonders

You can buy ad space based on the interest of people. As you can see below, SEMrush has bought ad space on the domain buying blog, as the person who is building a website will need marketing tools for sure. Smart move, isn’t it ?

display ads example

Several orders are made via chat platforms. Suppose the free version mentioned earlier has expired, you can leave your Whatsapp business number on the blog or website to redirect people to come chat with you. They can place orders after quickly clarifying their doubts.

This is the most valuable e-commerce option for small businesses. Whereas your website or blog sets you up as a dignified and trusted service provider, your Whatsapp may well become the hub where all the shopping action takes place.

Define Your Target Audience – It Helps You to Boost Selling Online

The target audience is your potential customer base for the online business you are running. It has the potential to define your business. When you target the right audience for your online business, there is automated growth in your business. The reason for many businesses falling can their inability to define the right target audience. Hence, to increase your sales and grow your business you should have exact knowledge of your target audience. You need to do deep research both demographically and psychographically to understand your audience.

The demographics of your audience include job title, age, ethnicity, physical features, income, etc. Psychographics include characteristics such as beliefs, values, and worldview. When you combine and analyze this information, you get the exact characteristics of your potential buyers. The marketing of your online business will only be fruitful if you have reached out to the right audience. Hence, all your marketing campaigns, SEO, and social media promotion should revolve around your target audience.

Before conducting a marketing campaign, you should first define your target audience, for the growth of your online business.

Reasons To Start An Online Business

  • Inexpensive to Start: If you are thinking that starting an online business might require a lot of capital, big inventory, and a large investment, then you might be wrong. Don’t worry, you do not need to invest all of your savings to launch a business online. You need a computer, a website domain, and a website builder. That’s it; with just a minimal investment you can immediately start your online business.
  • Potential and Growth: Low investment does not bring low potential and growth of the business. Experts say this is the best time to invest in an online business. The growing demand for online purchasing has contributed to the growth of online businesses. If you plan to take your business globally, doing it online is the most convenient way.
  • Business Open and Run 24/7: Physical shops and offices have to close down at some point of the day. What about online businesses? Well, no shop, no closing. When you launch a business online, it can run 24/7. Customers can buy from your website at any time of the day and do not require your presence. Thus, an online business can bring profits even with less day-to-day involvement.
  • Location is No Longer Needed: In an online business, there is no specific location required for working. You can be on vacation or partying somewhere. Online businesses require little involvement in terms of blogging or dealing with customer queries on a daily basis. Hence, the time saved from this little involvement can be invested in something else productive.
  • Flexibility to Time for Work: In an online business, there are no specific timings for work. The online business gives this liberty of working any time. You can schedule the working hours of the day according to your other engagements. Hence, online businesses have the flexibility of time for work.

Advantages of running an online business (E-commerce business)

  1. No Restriction on geographical area: With your offline business you cannot reach a large audience. It is restricted to the local customers only. But with an online business, there is no restriction on geographical location. You can even reach the audience thousands of miles away through your e-commerce. 
  2. Automation: Automation of business reduces the errors of inventory management, data entry, and transcription. It is an added benefit of online business. Automation reduces the tasks like promotional emails, payment orders, and errors like shipping to the wrong address. 
  3. Retargeting Customers: The eCommerce business advantage of retargeting customers keeps it above the physical stores. In cases when customers interact with your website but do not place an order, retargeting comes into action. You can reach your customers via different channels to market your products.
  4. Swift shopping process: Unlike physical stores, online businesses have a swift shopping process. The search bar option on your website allows customers to directly reach their desired products. Applying filters and a quick payment process adds up to the advantage. 
  5. Personalizing Customer Experience: E-commerce allows you to build a personalized customer experience for every customer. You can optimize website content in their language, change currency and also show products that are within reach of the customers.
  6. Low cost of training employees: The human resource requirement in online stores is reduced. In online stores, you do not require employees like cashiers or security guards. You can use these expenses to invest in running online ads.
  7. Take up and deliver multiple orders: The added advantage of online business allows one to take up and deliver many orders at once. In offline stores, the multiple order situations can turn into a crowded store and tedious transaction process.
  8. Easy Scalability: The finite space of physical stores makes scalability a time-taking procedure. But this is an advantage in eCommerce. With the infinite space, scalability is easy in eCommerce. You need to upgrade your hosting plan for accommodating more customers.

Conclusion – This Is Only the Beginning

online shopping

Putting in the effort is only half the effort. Think of it this way: without a sound strategy, all your hard work will only drain your energy levels as well as potential sales. ‘Less is more’ works beautifully for small businesses looking to transform from offline to online during the Covid-19 coronavirus crisis that has affected a plethora of businesses all over the globe.

Learn to Earn

Help is readily available for you online, in the very realm where you are now planning to branch out. Portals like Website setup are interesting pages to spend a day on, so you can figure out what will work for you and what won’t. From Affiliate Marketing and Online Publishing to creating Youtube videos, there is so much you can learn to benefit your small business in this crucial transition phase.

It is all about familiarity, which is why we recommended that you sit at least one day doing research. It may seem tedious, but at the end of the day you will have taken all the right notes to help you narrow down on the essentials. This in turn will help you target all the right customer bases and business factors, getting you that much closer to online success in a relatively short time.

FAQs for Online Business

How Can You Make Your Online Business Successful?

You can implement this business strategy to run an online business successfully: 1) Define your target audience 2) Plan your marketing campaigns to reach out to them 3) Meeting your customers’ demands through your products 4) Provide high-quality goods.

What Is the Advantage of Selling Online?

Selling online is a good marketing strategy for the following reasons: 1) It’s a cost-effective way to reach a larger audience 2) You can instantly know the outcome and reaction of your clients and consumers. This way, your products reach even the global level.

What Are The Steps To Starting An Online Business?

There are numerous ways to start an online business: Define your niche and business type (B2B or B2C), Create an online presence through the website, Optimize website content, Find & define a target audience, List products, or services on the website.

How to Reduce Cart Abandonment & Optimize Checkout Process for Ecommerce Store

In the eCommerce site, the check-out process is an extremely crucial factor when it comes to getting more and more sales. If your eCommerce store doesn’t have an easy and fluent checkout process then you will lose a huge number of sales and revenue. let’s discuss how to reduce cart abandonment rate by fixing or optimizing the checkout process in your eCommerce store.

On many occasions, it happens when a customer didn’t like the checkout process, non-relevant payment method, lacks proper information in the cart, or initiates the checkout page or other issues, and left the eCommerce store without purchasing the item.

What is Shopping Cart Abandonment?

In E-commerce, abandonment means if any visitor on a website leaves a specific webpage before completing the desired actions. There are different types of abandonment like booking abandonment, form abandonment, browse abandonment, shopping cart abandonment, etc. Shopping cart abandonment directly affects the sales and revenue of an online business and that is why it becomes very important to understand it.

Now, the question is What is shopping cart abandonment? So, in basic terms, when a customer starts the check-out process for an order but if by any means they do not complete the purchase then it is known as shopping cart abandonment. Shopping cart abandonment is a very important concept for online businesses as it helps them to know about the user experience. If the shopping cart abandonment rate is high, then this could mean a poor user experience.

According to Business Insider, it is believed that retailers have lost around $4.6 trillion to shopping cart abandonment. There are numerous reasons that can lead to shopping cart abandonment like complicated check-out process, complicated interface, multiple pop-up windows, the high loading time of the website, etc.

How to Calculate the Shopping Cart Abandonment Rate?

The cart abandonment rate is simply the percentage of shopping carts that did not convert. The simplest way to compute your cart abandonment rate is to first calculate your cart conversion rate, which is just the number of completed purchases divided by the number of shopping carts opened.

The Shopping Cart Abandonment Rate assists online companies in understanding the shopping habits of their website users and consumers.

Cart conversion Rate = Total number of purchases completed    x 100

                                  Total number of shopping cart created

For example, if you have 50 completed purchases and 200 shopping carts created, the shopping cart abandonment rate would be 75 %.

1 – (50 / 200) x 100 = 75 %

Shopping Cart Abandonment Statistics:

There are numerous factors that can lead to cart abandonment and e-commerce stores loses a lot of sales because of it. The average cart abandonment rate in the year 2020 was around 69.8 % whereas, in the year 2021 it went up to 80 %.

According to Statista, in March 2021 approximately 80 % of shopping orders were abandoned. The automotive industry had a 89.11 % of cart abandonment rate in March 2021. The cart abandonment rate of various industries in March 2021 is mentioned below,

  • Automotive – 89.11%
  • Luxury – 87.79%
  • Airlines – 88.87%
  • Hotel – 82.71%
  • Consumer electronics – 70.65%
  • Retail – 76.34%
  • Sports & Outdoor – 75.67%
  • Groceries – 61.13%
  • Travel – 85.22%
  • Fashion – 88.57%
  • Car rental – 80.83%
  • Cosmetics – 75.35%
  • Pharmaceutical – 71.51%

These are cart abandonment rates of some major industries in March 2021. (Statista)

According to SaleCycle, the average abandonment rate in the year 2020 was 84.27% and in 2021 its around 81.08%. The rate of shopping cart abandonment also depends majorly on devices because if we check the shopping cart abandonment rate of mobiles, desktops, and tablets then we can see that the rate is comparatively higher in mobiles. Below is the average shopping cart abandonment rate in different devices like mobile, tablets, and computers.

  • Mobile phones – 80.79 %
  • Tablets – 77.3 %
  • Computers – 73.93 %

Data Source https://www.barilliance.com/cart-abandonment-rate-statistics/

Top 9 Reasons for High Shopping Cart Abandonment Rate

Some of the major factors that cause high shopping cart abandonment rate in mobile phones are,

1) Poor Design

The shopping experience on desktop and mobile phones can be very different. A lot of websites mainly design websites keeping in mind the desktop version and they do not optimize the mobile version. This is one of the major reasons behind the shopping cart abandonment rate.

2) Slow Loading Speed

Users can access shopping websites from anywhere through mobile. Hence, it is not possible that they will get good internet speed everywhere. Therefore, low internet speed can lead to shopping cart abandonment.

3) Less Payment Options

This is an issue for both mobiles and desktops. If any shopping website does not provide a lot of payment options, then it can lose a lot of customers.

Apart from this, there are numerous other factors that contribute to the high shopping cart abandonment rate in mobile phones.

As per data by Statista, most e-commerce sites have a heavy cart abandonment ratio because of:-

Reasons can be many but being an e-commerce marketer, you need to track the shopping cart abandonment rate through Google Analytics. You need to set a goal and once the goal is set, Google Analytics tracks the conversions every time the goal is completed.

4) Create an account before purchase

Some merchants need customers to register before making a purchase. And this makes some customers feel uncomfortable in sharing their personal information and consequently opt out.

5) High Shipping Costs

There are many brands and companies that charge unreasonable shipping costs for the things they sell. Customers who do not purchase multiple products or buy products in bulk will find this extremely expensive. In addition, today’s customers do not accept excessive shipping costs for products that are not delivered within a few days. As a result, customers are redirected to other websites in search of better deals or free shipping options. Nothing irritates customer’s more than hidden fees.

6) Find affordable price on other platforms

Consumers are notably research-driven in today’ era of on-line shopping. They search through several websites and compare costs before creating online purchases. Thus, better rating on different sites can tend to distract shoppers removed from your store as a result of they’re perpetually on the seek for an improved deal right up till the ultimate minute of their transaction.

7) Complicated Checkout Process

The checkout process involves specific steps that a consumer must go through to complete a transaction. It is the place where the customer completes their product selection, confirms the delivery option and makes the payment to purchase the product. Therefore, a well-designed and simple checkout is required to reduce consumer abandonment.

8) Lack of customer support

Another major cause of cart abandonment is a lack of effective consumer support. This not only distracts your current customers but also confuses new customers because many times, a customer will not receive sufficient assistance from the support personnel while looking through the merchandise.

9) Didn’t find Coupon Code

Not being able to find the relevant Coupon code is also a leading cause of cart abandonment because this code is not shown in the correct location, which wastes important time and upsets your consumers.

Now the question is what can be done to reduce the cart abandonment rate? The best way is to optimize the checkout process on your e-commerce site.

Here are twenty surefire ways to do it:

20 Actionable Tips to Reduce Cart Abandonment

Below are the 16 methods where you can reduce checkout abandonment.

1) Optimize Page Speed

Optimize Page Speed
Image source: Google developers

If the page speed is less then it not only affects the current visit of the customers, but it is highly likely that they will hesitate in visiting your website in future also. A speedy checkout process can immensely boost the user experience in a positive way.

There are various reasons that cause slow shopping cart page speed like a lot of pages in the check-out process, various page objects, etc. Optimizing the page speed will boost sales and customers will be more inclined to buy products in the future from your website

2) Restriction on Product Quantity

Restriction on Product Quantity
Image Source: Tyche Softwares

The e-commerce website should mention the quantity limit for every product because if a customer adds certain products and at the end of, they find out that they cannot buy the product because of the restrictions on product quantity or limited quantity available then it can be very frustrating for the customers.

This can increase the shopping cart abandonment rate and it can ruin customers experience which will eventually affect the sales and revenue

3) Add Proper Information In Cart Page

Add Proper Information In Cart Page
Image Source: AB Tasty

It should be easy to find the total price of any product and there should be no hidden costs like taxes. Thumbnails of the products should be clearly visible throughout the check-out process as it assures the customers about their product and purchase.

There should be progress indicators on the check-out page because it allows users to know how much process is left to complete. Some of the other features that you can include in a shopping cart page are price & quantity, stock availability, payment options, etc.

4) Be Clear About Return & Refund Policy

Refund and return policies are very important for e-commerce because customers cannot try any product and that is why they want assurance that if anything is wrong with the product then they can easily return it and get the refund. A good return and refund policy motivates customers to buy any product without giving it a second thought.

5) Delivery Time

Delivery Time
Image Source: Pinterest

Usually, customers want their products to be delivered over a certain period and if there is an unexpected delivery time then customers will look for the product on any other e-commerce platform. The unexpected delivery time can be a huge turn-off for customers, and it will increase the shopping cart abandonment rate.

6) Offer Live Chat Support

Offer Live Chat Support
Image Source: REVE chat

Live chat support can be very helpful for customers as they can easily find help and ask questions if they are facing difficulty at any point. Live chat support is easily accessible and e-commerce websites can interact in real-time with the customers to solve their issues and difficulties. This can significantly decrease the shopping cart abandonment rate.

7) Install the SSL Certificate

Install the SSL Certificate

When customers make a purchase, they put a lot of trust in the e-retailer. While making a purchase, they hand over their personal financial information to you and with so many credit card breaches happening over the years, customers need to feel safe while transacting on your site. There are many shoppers do not place orders at the last minute if they feel insecure while buying from an ecommerce website.

The best way to eliminate this fear is by installing an SSL certificate and having secure site badges on your site. This will let the customers know that their connection is secure, which will eventually help in creating a trustworthy process. The importance of an SSL certificate for eCommerce site is very high and every e-commerce store should install it.

30% users have said that they have to re-enter the credit card information and that’s the main reason they abandons the cart – If your site has SSL certificate and other trusted badges than they trust if there was some issue in adding the credit card info on checkout page.

trusted-badges-ecommerce-sites

In 2016 Baymard Institute done research on what kind of badges on eCommerce sites gives the most trust to customers and it includes some popular trusted badges. So, don’t wait and secure your site as soon as possible to reduce basket abandonment ratio.

8) Keep Transparent Shipping Cost

office-furniture-free-shipping

The customers should know the exact cost while browsing through your products. Unexpected cost is one of the biggest reasons for cart abandonment. Most of these unexpected costs consist of shipping charges and delivery fees that come at the end of the checkout process. It shocks the customers many a time and it can be possible for them to feel cheated sometimes.

The best way to tackle this problem is to be transparent about the shipping charges. Every eCommerce store should fix one small banner at the top of the website by adding shipping details or need to create a separate page regarding shipping details which builds trust amongst customers that they are not getting cheated.

If the shipping cost or tax varies based on location then one can set the estimated shipping cost & tax calculator on the checkout page so, customers can see there is no hidden cost and can calculate the shipping cost accordingly.

9) Add Guest Checkout Option

Always try to keep the checkout process short, simple and hassle-free. One way of doing it is not forcing customers to create an account on your site.  Not everyone who lands on your site has the time to make an account; rather they must be solely interested in buying something.

So, instead of giving them the trouble related to creating an account, just have a guest checkout option and close the deal. You can only take an Email ID to send transaction mail, bill, and order tracking details during the guest checkout process rather than all details.

Note – No need to add pop up of sign up on every page as well – Don’t frustrate the visitor of your site

10) Maintain Quick Outreach

When a cart is abandoned, never put your trust solely on an auto response. Give personal attention to it.  Be quick in your response every time you get a notification of an abandoned cart and offer a helping hand to the users. Understand their pain points, and try to help them with their problems. Even if you cannot help them all the time, your sincere approach can surely make them appreciate your gesture.

Still confused? Well, we have seen many cases where users abandons the cart just because of coupon code error or card authorization error. In this case provide live chat option directly on check out page so, they can simply drop message without visiting the contact us form and had to wait for long process.

NoteWe have seen and experienced quick outreach on travel booking sites or loan booking sites. As soon as you close the site without booking or inquire anything they will call you within an hour and it works.

11) Send E-mail after Cart Abandonment

E-mail after Cart Abandonment

Many a time users abandon the cart just before checkout. In that case get their mail id. Use it as a source of communication and set an email drip to notify them of the left items in the cart. 

Follow up those mails for a period of 24 hours. If there is no response, keep them updated about the latest discounts and coupon codes to trigger a call to action and completion of the process.

Note: Don’t spam their inbox by sending mails again and again.

12) Perform Remarketing Ads

Perform Remarketing Ads

Despite all your efforts, if you find that cart abandonment cannot be nullified completely, you can surely get back to such users with remarketing ads. Place a Facebook tracking pixel or Google Remarketing Tag on your site which will capture the behavior of a visitor.

Craft a Facebook ad campaign or Google Dynamic Remarketing Ads that target those users who left your website without making any purchase. Create ads based on the products they viewed, and tempt them into making a purchase.

Here is the list of audience for whom ecommerce store can set up remarketing ads and grabs sales from abandon cart users.

Audience 1 – Visited cart page but didn’t make any purchase (Average chances for sales)

Audience 2 – Visited Checkout page but didn’t make any purchase (Higher chances for sales)

13) Offer Coupon Codes / Free Shipping/ Promotion Details

On your website’s cart page, highlight what extra you have to offer. Customers love new offers, coupon codes, and discounts. Thus if you have any coupon code or discount for a particular product, showcase them in the checkout process.

Moreover, if you keep the shipping free, it will bring a lot of smiles. Show the customers that they can get a great deal if they complete the checkout process. There are plenty of Ecommerce promotion ideas that can be apply to your store including

  • Free Shipping
  • Percentage based discounts
  • BOGO (Buy 1 Get 1 Free)
  • Quantity Discounts

14) Have Multiple Payment options

Have Multiple Payment options

It is very important to have multiple payment options on your ecommerce site. With the increased use of plastic cash like credit cards and digital wallets, it is necessary that you keep all the options open. Doing so will help in improving conversions. Also, it will not turn away users who are habitual to a particular payment method.

preferred-payment-method-options

As per above statistics users prefers to pay via Credit cards, PayPal (Electronic payment) & Debit card mostly so, these kind of payment methods should be there on your ecommerce story without fail.

15) Limit the Checkout Process

Follow the principle of KISS (Keep It Simple and Short) for your eCommerce website checkout process. The more clicks a user does on a site, the higher are the chances of cart abandonment. A report says, 28% of US online shoppers have abandoned an order in the past quarter solely due to a long or complicated checkout process.

So, keep the number of clicks to three, let a user choose a product, add it to the cart, and check it out, resulting in simpler, faster, and better conversions.

16) Minimize Distractions

The attention span of a person has drastically reduced to a mere eight seconds, so it is very important that you keep your website clean. Do not add too many banners or showcase too many ads. Cut off the unnecessary product.

17) Reduce shipping costs

According to a recent survey, nearly 80% of customers said that a lower price or free shipping was a deciding factor in whether or not they made an online purchase. This aspect entices the buyer and compels him or her to shop.

18) Add trust signal

One of the best factors that promotes a sense of belonging among consumers to buy from an unknown source and make payment is trust. Furthermore, if customers do not feel secure when making a purchase on your website, your conversions will suffer.

  • Add customer reviews, text, and video testimonials
  • Add social proof to your checkout page
  • Include contact information

19) Offer incentives with exit popups

Offer incentives with exit popups are some of the most lucrative thing that holds your consumers from going anywhere else. In fact, it is one of the primary reasons why customers return to your website.

offer incentive

20) Use Analytics to Monitor Abandonment

Today the market is loaded with numerous tools like Google Analytics and other technologies by which Retailers can measure desertion rates and spot patterns or changes in customer behaviour. Further, this can assist merchants in identifying issues that may be affecting cart abandonment rates and finding solutions that enhance checkout conversion.

So, you will have a concise idea about the shopping cart abandonment rate on your site by visiting Conversions – Goals – Funnel Visualization data in Google Analytics.

analytics to monitor cart abandonment

Conclusion

These are some high priority steps to optimize the checkout process to grab sales from users who abandons the cart. Reach out to those users via Email, Ad platform, social media and every possible way so, they come back to your store and buys that thing. Just one thing – Don’t spam their news feed, timeline, mail box by showing the ad again and again else they will mark it as a spam and may not come to your store again in future.

8 Ideas to Help You Increase Your Online Business

Technology advancement is directly affecting the consumer behavior and smart marketing strategies must be formed by considering futuristic approach. I have seen most of the brands brainstorming on ideas that can facelift their online branding by implementing this approach. Some times online businesses fails to understand their target audiences and as a result they can not generate expected ROI. In this article I will cover such unique ideas which are still in development stage and will really help you to tailor your customer’s experience with innovative concepts for your online business.

How does going online benefit you?

How does going online benefit you?

We are living in a world of digitalization and it is necessary for everyone to build their internet presence. Every aspect of our lives, from working to shopping, is done online. How can one afford to lose this opportunity to grow their business? Building a brand online has a number of benefits. For instance,

• It helps in accessing a large number of customer base from around the world.
• The operating cost of the business is reduced significantly.
• Builds trust and credibility for your brand.
• It saves time, money, and easy availability for the customers.
• Increased sales and after sales services.
• It creates brand awareness with potential customers.
• It helps in building a relationship with the customer.
• Faster delivery of the products and feedback.

#1 Provide Tailored Shopping Recommendation based on Data Point analysis

If you have been following Amazon or Flipkart recently, you may as well have noticed the recommendation section after you login. This section presents products that you have previously viewed and products that have been frequently bought by customers looking for the search results you are currently entered. Provide recommendations which are based on your customer’s buying history and behavior.

amazon recommendationsUnderstand customer’s needs through their style graph which can largely determined by buying analysis. As a result, your eCommerce platform can present better recommendations and deeper discounts on products that really matters your audience. Promotional mails created in the right format and integrating well researched products can do the job.

#2 Personal Feel

These are the days of personalization and customization. Customers are already informed in what is best for them and where to get them from. However, they would be looking up to shopping sites to present something unique. Every shopping platform in the retail category sells sports shoes, but you can hope to make a difference only by bringing in special products. Be it local handicrafts of a region that are scarcely available for online customers or limited edition books, unique always make the cut. Think of ways in which you can appeal to the exclusive audience.

Goldbely is one of the best examples in this category. A Fancy Food Delivery startup, Goldbely has been able to come up with a unique service idea. This is perhaps the only service of its kind in USA that will be able to deliver customers Lou Malnati, Chicago signature deep dish pizza and Skyline Chile from Cincinnati to New York in a matter of hours! This is perfect for customers who have a craving for special foods. The success has been so impactful that Goldbely has recently acquired Intel Capital’s seed fund worth $3 million.

Also Read: 9 Breakthrough Tips to Grow Your Yoga Business from the Scratch

#3 Fast and Better User Experience can win half the battle

Whatever brand you may be, whatever products or service you may be selling, you are never far from competition. Many websites suffer from slow loading pages and the visitor is instantly encouraged to look for a different service provider/competing website. User experience has been voted to be the most important factor in visitor conversion and if your website isn’t fast enough, it automatically falls out. Now looking into the root, longer loading time is caused by bigger images, heavy graphics, complicated interface, heavy forms, and slow server speeds. However, it doesn’t also imply that bigger web pages need to be slow.

Taking instartlogic.com for instance, faster website performance is triggered by the use of Software-Defined Application Delivery (SDAD), front end optimization and faster content delivery frameworks. Complimenting services would include image trans coding, instant loading, flash/HTML streaming, DDoS Protection, Global Network Accelerator, PCI Compliance, etc. Accolades include the “Cool Vendor 2014” award by Gartner. They do offer guaranteed 20% faster solutions than any CDN.

#4 Offer Earning Opportunities

Every artist has a definitive mindset and will create products that are more or less similar. Appointing a team of designers with varied interests and different ways of thinking is the best way to come up with a well defined product line. However, there’s a limit to the number of artist you can appoint! For brands looking to get unique concepts, the world can be the workplace. There are many companies that bring in freelance talent and artists to give themselves a global edge. These freelancers are well paid for their work but the website too earns a lot of credibility and revenue by selling it back to the customers!

Tee Spring has successfully implemented this eco-system and achieved huge success. TeeSpring enable people to design and sell their own t-shirts and keep all the profit and as a result has a huge inventory of unique products to sell. Tee Spring is the only commerce for everyone platform unlocking earning opportunities for entrepreneur, artist or anyone across the globe and it’s a kind of workplace that every artist would love to contribute. Well, everyone is a winner here!

#5 Let Customers Bargain for the price

If you ever visited a roadside market in India, you must be acquainted with bargaining. Bargaining is a way of agreement upon price between both the customer and the seller. While the seller feels happy that he/she got the product at a satisfactory price, sellers do also keep their cut on the original price. The advantage? Well, every customer comes up with a different price. If your base selling price is 300 currencies, the customer might take it in 300 or even in 500 depending on his personality and paying capability. The seller is never at a loss but the customer is equally satisfied. Bargaining however is not a usual thing in the online marketplace. However, it can also be your brand’s competitive advantage in competitive market.

A striking example would be Green Toe which allows its customers to call their price inclusive of shipping and taxes. As a result, the site is popular among retailers and the one to match the customer price gets to sell his product. Unique, Indeed!

#6 Offer Personalized Promos

Some customers are more in favor of cash back on purchase than discounts. Some want their buy to be accompanied by a free accessory while others want an offer code on their whole cart. Offering such personalized promotional offers to customers can be a unique marketing advantage. While every customer asks for the least price, discounts can take several forms. Not everyone is comfortable with a “Buy 2, get 1 Free” offer. They might not need three products, but would rather pay a dollar extra for a single product if its suits the wallet.

Personalized promos can be a competitive advantage in upcoming time. If you check out Shopular, the personalized promotions have been helping in increasing the visitor conversion and ROI to a great extent. You would at once feel to have complete freedom on your purchase.

#7 Quick and Best Service can win the customers

The two differences between offline and online shops is the customer’s ability to get a first hand feel of the product and bringing it home and using immediately. A transaction is not complete until the product is safely delivered to the customer. In the era of “Cash on delivery”, this is in fact an important part of the customer experience. Today’s customers are willing to pay extra for fast delivery and high quality of service. On the other hand, any problem in the delivery process can bring quite a lot of discredit.

A good example would be Spoon Rocket, an online retail store specializing in fast food delivery process. The popularity of this platform has growth to an extent that it has been growing by 10% every week since its inception. Further, Spoon Rocket boasts of a 40% repeated customer rate! All of this has been made possible by a highly appreciable median delivery time of 6.5 minutes.

The retail business is not easy these days. Not only is the competition increasing but the customers are more informed and demanding. By providing unique and innovative services and facilities, you can not only beat your competitors but also built loyal customer base.

#8 Provide a discount to early subscribers

To make your business run when you are just starting out to get more customers. There are many market strategies that will allow you to do business in an effective way. One such way is to give discounts to early customers or first-time visitors. Giving discounts to early subscribers is the best way to boost your online business. If you are ready to offer discounts in the initial stages, it will surely work and increase the sales. You can opt for different ways to give discounts like through coupons, deals or in cash against the regular price. Another way is to give discounts to customers who pay through digital media or to the first ten customers.

provide discount to early subscribers

Once prices are reduced, it puts the human psychology to work and nobody wants to miss out on the offers. Giving discounts may only for a limited number of customers but it will gain your business a large number of customers.

Over to you!

Are you one of this start-up and have implemented such innovative concept in your businesses? I would love to hear you!

Need any help to plan your marketing strategies? Contact us now!

Free Consultation

Free Consultation